HOW DO I SPEND MY DAY


I had a message a few days ago from a person who said they would like to do what I do and was wondering what a "typical" day looks like for me.

I though that was funny because I really don't have a typical day. I have Ideal Days, Normal Days, and Perfect Days... thought you might find it interesting too...


Here is my IDEAL DAY and believe it or not, sometimes it happens.
 
6:30 – 7:30 Wake. Get the kids out the door to school.

7:30 – 8:30 Walk with Neighbor Friend

8:30 – 9:00 Shower. Get ready

9:00-12:30pm-  Find /Pick up Furniture / Worker with Furniture Pickers moving items

12:30 -1pm - Lunch

1pm-3:30pm  - Repair, Refinish Furniture

3:30 – 5:00 – Cook early dinner / Feed Family (I insist we eat together as a family then the kids go off to sports/play practice or do homework)

5:00 – 7:30 Paperwork / Showing Furniture 

7:30 -9:30pm – Family Time / Reading / Bed


My NORMAL DAY  

6:30 – 7:30 Wake. Get the kids out the door to school - hand out a gazillon dollars for dances, projects, fund raisers and Einsteins Bagels on the way to school. (No food in the house because I forgot to grocery shop yesterday)

7:30 -8:00  Pay Bills, Return Email while waiting for a customer

8:20 – Customer is 20 minutes late but buys a Dresser – Load into car

8:30 – 9:15 Walk with Neighbor Friend who is flexible with time

9:15 – 9:30 Throw on clean clothes, brush my teeth – head out the door.

9:30 -9:45 Head back home because I left my phone in the garage when showing the customer a dresser. Get a text from another customer that wants to see a buffet at 10:45

9:45-10:30am-  Meet with Picker, find nothing and race home

10:30 to 10:45 – Re-polish the buffet and realize there is a loose slider under the drawer. Frantically re-screw the loose slider and then realize it’s the wrong size screw. Search my bins for the right sized screw and repair the slider just as the customer pulls up.

10:45 to 11:15 Show the buffet to a customer who is very nice, visits for thirty minutes and decides against the buffet.

11:15 -1pm – Head back out  - 50 minute drive to meet with Picker up North. Find two small pieces that need to be refinished and realize a leg is broken on one piece while loading it but too tired to argue about the price and I take it.

1pm to 2:00 Grab Chick-fil-a in drive through (stuck in line while electricity goes out for ten minutes) and drive home

2pm-3:30pm  - Work on a drawer that is wobbly, add 2nd coat of polyurethane to three items, drip some on my good jeans that I forgot to change out of before working with polyurethane. Take photos of furniture that is ready to be advertised.

3:30 – 5:00 – Cook early dinner / Feed Family – I’m not hungry because I just ate. Run to Walgreens for school item my daughter needs, answer texts and email.

5:00 – 5:30 Unload my car, move in furniture drying in the sun as it starts to rain.

5:30 -6:30pm – Listen to kids complain while I wait for two customers. One is early and one is late. Both buy.

6:30 -8:00pm Talk about day with my husband while answering emails, doing laundry, playing a game on my phone and helping with homework. Listen intensely to a story my daughter is telling and try not to think about if the last text said the customer was coming tonight or tomorrow night - I don't want to look at my phone while she tells me about her day.

8:00pm Fall asleep during a show on Netflix. Wake when my phone rings. My customer who owns a furniture store has sent her guy to pick up two pieces she bought a week ago. I help him load and visit.

8:45- 9:00pm Make a weird response when my husband asks me a question because I (irrationally) don’t want him to know I have fallen asleep during the show.

9:00pm – Starving – I eat a pint of ice cream and a handful of trail mix (mostly chocolate).

9:30-11:30 Can't sleep because the chocolate had too much caffeine - I post furniture on craigslist and catch up on school newsletters

11:30pm Fall into bed wearing my clothes from the day before, too tired to
change.

The schedule above is way better than it used to be back when I had to take and pick up my kids from school, practice and sports (now my two older kids can drive themselves and their sister.)


My BEST DAYS  - Also known as: Why I Keep This Job!

6:30 – 7:30 Wake. Get the kids out the door to school.

7:30 – 7:35 Cancel walk with Neighbor Friend because it Snowed/Rained/Too Hot/Someone is Sick/Don’t feel like it

7:35 – 9:00 Long bath. Put PJ’s back on.

9:00-12:30pm-  Read a book. Practice my French. Read Blogs. Call a Friend or Sister.

12:30 -2pm – Go to long Lunch with Husband (also self-employed at his own company)

2pm-3:30pm  - Read. Nap. Computer Surf. Watch TED talks on Youtube

3:30 – 5:00 – Leisurely Grocery Shop. Cook early dinner / Feed Family

5:00 – 9:30 - Play a card game with my Kids / Long Phone Call With my Mom. / Walk with Husband to Wash Park / Start to read that book I got on vacation/ Bed


These three days and many, many, many variations of them are how I spend my days. I imagine they look a lot like yours! 

I need more of the BEST DAYS - don't we all!

See you soon!